Hare Squead – Supernormal EP

I first discovered Hare Squead while listening to the Goldlink remix of “Herside Story” on “At What Cost?” where shortly after I decided to check out the Squead and see what they were about. Their debut EP, Supernormal, instantly caught my attention with “Got a Long Way to Go” which is reminiscent of a shining Pharrell record with a myriad of other Hip-Hop, Pop, and R&B influences. Describing themselves as “three black Irish kids making waves,” Hare Squead’s fun and energetic sound fit right in with the trend of young carefree eccentric Black acts in the Hip-Hop scene such as Chance the Rapper, Masego, Goldlink, D.R.A.M., and Aminé to name a few.

Hearing “Herside Story” again on Supernormal was surprisingly refreshing as the verses from rappers Tony Konstone and E-Knock really popped for me thanks to their distinct sound and adlibs. The singer of the group, Jessy Rose, deserves as much credit for his singing as the other members of the Squead as they really do make the tracks come together. While the first two tracks were cheery and upbeat, the last song on Supernormal has a more distant, gritty sound with major trap influences and a chorus that matches its name, “Loco,” well. I never would have expected to be listening to a Dublin-based Hip-Hop group in 2017 but I’ve been listening to Hare Squead in my room, on walks, while cooking, driving around Richmond, and many other activities without even thinking about it. They bring a sound I feel like we’ve been missing for a while and I love it. I can’t wait to see how their music develops from here on out.

Supernormal – EP – Hare Squead

 

Leave a comment